Holidays are coming–and so is snow

11 Nov

FIRST–HAPPY VETERANS’ DAY to all you vets out there. AND THANK YOU FOR YOUR SERVICE.

Now, my apologies again to my readers for posting so infrequently. I’ve had an unexpectedly busy year, not only with a lot of family and friends trips for weddings, births, big anniversaries, etc., but also more business trips than planned and a changing of the guard at the main non-profit I work with, which has caused a lot of extra work during the changeover. So that’s my excuse for not regularly posting–and I’m sticking to it!

But it’s also true that there hasn’t been much of import to report and, with the holidays almost upon us, there’s likely to be even less to report since governments at all levels tend to hit the snooze button during this season too. Still there are a couple of things important to pedestrians to note:

1. DC Snow Team: One good thing that will surely help us is that Mayor Bowser has established an enhanced Snow Plan. Since forecasts now say we could get 20-25 inches of snow over the winter, the new snow plan comes none too soon. And there’s an opportunity for us to help–While the Mayor’s office promises enhanced enforcement of the law that requires property owners(residential and commercial) to clear sidewalks surrounding their properties within 8 hours after a snowfall, the Mayor has also formed an action plan to help those who are seniors and residents with disabilities. Snow teams are being formed with those of us who can volunteer to help our neighbors.

If you would like for join, go to:

snowteam.dc.gov

Right now through December they’re offering free orientations in each Ward on the Do’s and Don’ts of Shoveling Snow.

NOTE: When I got notice of this program, I joined up, but told them I would not be at an orientation because, besides being busy then, as a former Northern Ohioan, I know how to shovel snow and know to shovel it early before it ices over. They agreed. But I also mentioned that they should add to their list the shoveling of curb cuts so people can get across the street.

If you can, I urge you to join the Snow Team formally, or just help a neighbor on your own. And adopt a curb cut or two as well. I’ll be out at Q and 16th again this year with my little shovel. I met so many nice grateful people and a couple of helpers last year.

2. My 2015 Resolutions: Because the holiday season is almost upon us, I am holding off my followup to the new DDOT Administrator on what action they might be taking in response to Mayor Bowser’s promise to me after my letter that things would improve for pedestrians in the CBD at least. But I’ll be writing the letter and have it ready to send out first thing in January.

I will also check with Dupont Circle Citizens Association on the creation of that task force their President mentioned to me to deal with controlling sidewalk biking in the neighborhood.

That’s all I have time for now. I’ll try to get in another post in the next month since I do have some diary tidbits you might enjoy.

Meanwhile, have a good start to the holiday season, and remember STAY ALERT! DON”T GET HURT!

3 Responses to “Holidays are coming–and so is snow”

  1. robertwpsu@comcast.net December 10, 2015 at 1:36 am #

    Hi Jeanne, “You’re going through a red light, you’re going through a red light, you’re going through a red light,” the old man shouted to the bicyclists and then he pointed to the pedestrian walk signal that he had, and added “I have the walk signal” as the half dozen or so bicyclists zoomed up 15th street against the red light., totally ignoring him. Actually, the old man was me and I experienced this incident on my way to the Natural History museum this morning, as I was trying to cross 15th street around F street.

    I guess nothing has changed along 15th street. I thought I’d share.

    Take care, Robert Werner

    • jeannemallett2013 December 10, 2015 at 2:27 pm #

      Thanks, Bob. Your experience is all too typical. I wish we could get more enforcement of laws that already exist to protect we poor pedestrians. Hope it doesn’t ruin your holidays. My best wishes to you for a happy and safe holiday season. Jeanne

      • Robert Werner December 24, 2015 at 12:40 am #

        And a very Happy Holiday’s to you and yours, Jeanne.

        Bob

Leave a Reply

