Thanks to all commenters and a bit of an apology

11 Jul

Hi! As those of you who’ve been reading this blog from its beginning at the end of March this year know, I am new to blogging and am still finding my way. And to those of you who have found the blog through today’s Washington Post article, you might want to read my posts from the beginning. Not all of them are as long as the last one and some contain links to other sites.

But, since I am still finding my way, I’m not sure I’m set up so that all the comments you fine people gave or will give are set up in the proper way when I reply. To me it looks like all my replies are up top and the comments are below. But they’re all there. I’ll see if I can do anything about this in the future.

And, finally, to some of you who wrote comments, I gave no separate reply. But that doesn’t mean I appreciate them any less. I had nothing to say except Thanks!

And your blogger will do her best to up her game as the need arises. Meanwhile STAY ALERT and STAY SAFE.

2 Responses to “Thanks to all commenters and a bit of an apology”

  1. patrikpatrik0 July 12, 2013 at 4:53 pm #

    Having moved from Sweden where cars and bikes usually fight it out for space (depending on what city you live in of course) I was really surprised as a pedestrian to see how much things are different here.
    Bikes ride in the street sometimes which is what they’re supposed to do in my opinion but they always run red lights. Stop signs mean nothing to them.
    On the other hand I saw a car almost running over a bicyclist who was following the rules but got yelled at by the driver who leans out and screams “get out of the way – streets are for cars, dumbass.”

    Walking with a stroller all day introduces you to all kinds of people I guess.

    • jeannemallett2013 July 12, 2013 at 5:41 pm #

      Thanks for your comment. And welcome to DC. I’ve visited a number of European countries besides yours and I’ll say I find what you report in others as well. I’m especially amazed at how well Parisians, where bikesharing started, deal with the crazy traffic there. I also work for a couple of German organizations and visited there too. The Germans who come here are also amazed. But, if you continue to visit this blog, and I hope you do, you’ll see that even in the US, most cities are not like DC. They don’t allow adult bicycling on the sidewalk. At the same time, I understand the frustration of the good bicyclists here when they meet up with someone like that driver. There’s no excuse for that behavior. And my guess is that no amount of education would help that driver. On the other hand, as one person said at a recent meeting, the bicyclists shouldn’t take that out on the pedestrians by riding on the sidewalk.

      And special thanks for your comment because one group I definitely see being terrorized by the sidewalk bikers in the middle of the day and on weekends are people who have or take care of small children. And since I now work in my own neighborhood and walk everywhere I see plenty of it.

Leave a Reply

